top of page

Creator of Objects of Vertu



Canterbury museum is about to undergo a $205m redevelopment which is expected to take five years to complete. There will be a “pop up” museum with some of the exhibits in the interim, but the majority of the taonga is going into offsite storage. (Fun fact: due to space limitations, less than 1% of the museum’s collection has been on display at any given time.)

So yesterday I went to the museum for the first and last time in its current state. Much to my delight, my most favourite exhibitions (Victorian, early European, decorative arts, and costumes) were still on display.

The Paua Shell House was nightmare-inducing, but provided plenty of laughs amongst friends and strangers alike. These are the kinds of shared experiences that create lasting memories.

I also learned something new (refer to photo) and am henceforth going to refer to myself as a “creator of objects of vertu”.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page