top of page

The Fortress



A fortress by the beach I shall build,

With sandstone walls to provide me with shelter,

Storms may attempt to thrash their way inside,

But they will never penetrate enough to cause harm.

At night it may appear cold and lonely,

Perhaps it is but a small price to pay,

For within its care I shall remain in safety,

Whilst the moon watches over with tenderness and care.

A window I shall prise open at dawn,

To bask in the glory of the rising sun,

Its rays will gently caress my skin,

Its power will warm the depths of my heart.

When I am ready my feet shall step outside,

With head held high across the sand I will stride,

The cool breeze will surround and embrace me,

My soul will be nourished and lifted up high.



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page